Active Registered Voters
  • as of
  • Democrats:
  • Republicans:
  • Others:
  • Total:

How to Register to Vote

If you are 18 years old, a U.S. citizen, and a legal resident of Florida and the county in which you seek to be registered, and you register pursuant to the Florida Election Code, you may become a registered voter.  A person who is otherwise qualified may preregister on or after that person's 16th birthday and may vote in any election occurring on or after that person's 18th birthday.  Voter information cards will be mailed to those that preregister after their 18th birthday.

The following persons are not entitled to register or vote:

  • Those who have been adjudicated mentally incapacitated with regard to voting in Florida or any other state and  have not had their rights restored pursuant to law.
  • Those who have been convicted of any felony by any court of record and  have not had their right to vote restored pursuant to law.
  • Those who are not  citizens of the United States of America.

To register to vote, you must fill out a voter registration application.

Registration applications may be obtained at any of the following locations:

The Supervisor of Elections Office, all U.S. Post Offices in Gulf County, Driver's License Offices, Public Libraries, Social Service Agencies, Veterans Affairs Offices, Public Assistance Agencies, Armed Forces Recruiting Offices, Vocational Rehabilitation locations, Workers Compensation Offices, & WIC locations. You may also call the Supervisor of Elections (850) 229-6117  to have a voter registration form mailed to you. 

After completing and signing the voter registration application, it can be mailed or delivered to the Supervisor of Elections Office.

Important Note

If you register by mail and you are a first time voter in the County, you are required to provide additional identification. To assure that you will not have problems when you go to vote, you should provide a copy of the required identificaton at the time you mail your voter registration form. If you are voting an absentee ballot, you must provide the proper identification by 7 p.m. election day or your absentee ballot may not count. The following ID that includes your name and picture may be used: *Florida Drivers License *Florida ID Card *U.S. Passport *Debit/Credit Card *Military ID *Student ID *RetirementCenter ID *Neighborhood Association ID *Publice Assistance ID. Or, you may provide a copy of one of the following documents that contains your name & current residence address: *Utility Bill *Bank Statement *Government Check *Paycheck * Other Government Document. Or, if you are one of the following, you may not need to provide ID. Please contact the Elections office for additional information. These exemptions are: *Persons 65 years of age or older *Persons with a temporary or permanent physical disability *Members of the active uniformed service or merchant marine who, by reason of such active duty, are absent from the county. *Spouse or dependent of an active duty uniformed service member or merchant marine who, by reason of the active duty or service of the member, is absent from the county*Persons currently residing outside the U.S. who are eligible to vote in Florida. Do not send original identification documents to the Supervisor of Elections. A voter information card will be mailed to the applicant approximately one to two weeks after the application is processed.

Register Online

If you prefer, you may now register to vote online! This method will streamline the process both for you and for our office. To register online, CLICK HERE